Carl Faber, Resident Lighting Designer, and Director of New Technology 

Founding Collective Member*

Carl is a freelance lighting designer based in Portland, Oregon. Carl has collaborated with theaters, companies, directors, choreographers, and visual artists across the United States, Europe, and Asia, including recent designs with Arena Stage, Williamstown Theatre Festival, Artists Repertory Theatre, Profile Theatre, Third Rail Repertory, Ars Nova, Shanghai Centre Theatre, NW Children’s Theatre, Theater Freiburg, Non-Stop Wroclaw, and Eaux Claires Festival. Carl has toured extensively with Bruce Springsteen & The E Street BandBon Iver and The National, has designed dozens of productions for Norwegian Cruise Lines, and served as the Co-Lighting Supervisor at the Williamstown Theatre Festival (Artistic Director Nicholas Martin) in 2008 and 2009. His designs of Beehive and Trails for Broadway Rose Theatre Company won the 2017 and 2018 Drammy Awards for Best Lighting Design.

Carl has been a Guest Lecturer and Teaching Artist at Playwrights Horizons Theater School (NYU/Tisch), Crossroads School for the Arts and Sciences (Los Angeles) and The Catlin Gabel School (Portland). Notable collaborations include work with AMC Television, Blue Man Group, Empire Entertainment, GreenLight Creative, Stanton Collaborative, David Weiner Design, Barneys New York, Ferragamo, and many corporate clients and special event companies throughout the United States. Carl has served as associate/assistant to lighting designers Brian MacDevitt, Justin Townsend, Kenneth Posner, Robert Wierzel, Duane Schuler, Ben Stanton, Rui Rita, Don Darnutzer, York Kennedy, Connie Yun, and Ann G. Wrightson on numerous projects, including the Broadway productions of The Book of MormonBloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, and August: Osage County.

Carl is a proud member of the United Scenic Artists Local USA-829. He attended Crossroads School for the Arts and Sciences, The Catlin Gabel School, and holds a B.A. from Vassar College, where he was the recipient of the Kazan Prize for excellence in Drama.